Meatless Monday! 😊 

So last week for Meatless Monday I talked about trying new veggies and exploring new ways to enjoy these veggies that I either didn’t used to like or had never even tried before. I’m going to continue with that theme this week. 

Asparagus


No seriously until last week I have never had asparagus. I’m not a fan of green beans so for whatever reason I associated that with I won’t like asparagus either. 💁 

I’m always looking for recipes and exploring pintrest and I kept coming across roasted asparagus and so finally when I was at the grocery store I bought some. My mom and my sister both like it so I knew if I made it and it turned out I wasn’t a fan that they would eat it and it wouldn’t be wasted. Oh if there’s anything I truly hate its wasted food! 😥 

Now I didn’t just make asparagus I paired it with roasted potatoes and mushrooms as well. Here’s how I did it. 

  • Preheat your oven to 400. Peel and Cut the potatoes into bit sized piece. I did both sweet potato and regular potatoes. Put them in a bowl with some olive oil and salt and get your hands in there and mix it all up. Place in a baking pan and bake for 30 minutes. 
  • While those are cooking chop up or leave whole, your preference, your mushrooms with some minced garlic and olive oil in a frying pan on medium heat until water is mostly absorbed and mushrooms are a dark brown color. That will probably take about 15-20 minutes. 
  • When the mushrooms are where you want them and potatoes have been in about 30 minutes alone add them to the potatoes in the oven and cook about 10 minutes turning the oven up 425 degrees.
  • In between that I washed and trimmed the bottom of my asparagus, tossed them in olive oil and salt and placed in a baking pan.I added those into the oven above the potatoes and cooked for 15-20 minutes may take shorter or longer depending on how thick your asparagus are and how many you are making. 
  • I timed it all about right where the potatoes and mushrooms were done with the asparagus only needed about 7 more minutes and everything was almost done together! I also added a little drizzle of lemon to both the asparagus and potato mixture for a little added flavor and a little parmasean cheese to the asparagus. 

 


And the best part about it? I LOVED the asparagus! This is normally a side dish but with the potatoes and everything I had a delicious veggies bowl for dinnnler and was completely full! 

Haven’t decided which veggie to try next if you have any ideas I’m open to them! 😊

Leave a Reply

