I will be the first one to tell you I’m not the most organized person. I try to be, I really do, but then all my messy habits shine right through and it ends pretty quickly. BUT because I’m so crazy I think meal prep is super important for me. I am absolutely terrible when it comes to coming home after work and making something healthy. I’ll be so quick to grab something terrible just because it’s easier and the faster it’s done the faster I can go get off my feet! It’s also super hard to meal prep when everyone is home because well I make a huge mess,( shocker right?)  and that makes my mom FREAK out, I always clean up but you should see the look on her face when I’ve got three things going on the stove, ingredients and spices all over the table!  but in that mess I somehow know exactly what I’m doing, even if she hates it! I also end up doing a lot of cooking when I’m frustrated, it’s my new found release and today I was in a mood! and so a huge meal prep occurred.

For this Meatless Monday I’m just going to go through what I made, and honestly show how easy it was!

Proteins.

I experimented with Tofu today! Usually I’ll just chop it all up, make a scramble and add some seasoning but this time I found a recipe for oven baked Tofu and it came out great. Super easy recipe too.

20170424_145421

  1. Cut the tofu into cubes
  2. get as much water out of the tofu as possible
  3. coat the tofu with olive oil, and whatever seasonings you choose
  4. then coat the tofu in cornstarch so help it crisp up in the oven
  5. place it on a baking sheet and cook at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, then flip them around and put back in for another 10 minutes or so!

I also cooked up some Roasted Red Pepper Quinoa which is also easy to set up on the stove and let it cook while you’re prepping other things. I buy the Quinoa in a box, the Near East brand, bring the oil, water and quinoa to a boil, add the seasoning, and just let it simmer until all the water is absorbed.

Then for my third protein I took my Gardein faux chicken strips out of the freezer and cooked them up in the oven at 430 degrees for about 20 minutes.

Veggies.

I made a simple stir fry, I don’t even know if you can call it a stir fry because I just threw together Broccoli, Cauliflower, Snap Peas and Kale together with olive oil, a little salt, garlic powder, onion powder, pepper and ms dash! I let it cook up in the pan, stirring occasionally and YUM!

I also boiled up some water, cubed up some sweet potatoes and cooked those up as well. There’s so many ways you can do sweet potatoes but for some reason my favorite way is boiling them in water all cubed up!

 

After I had all my main components cooked up I pieced them together to make meals! This is probably a totally weird way to do it but it all worked out for me!

I split up all the proteins with equal amounts of the stir fry and put them in a separate frying pan for all the flavors to marry together. I also threw in about a teaspoon of Earth Balance Vegan butter and a little bit of fresh lemon juice just to add a little flavor, which I’ve never done before and luckily it came out good!

20170424_153329
This is a bit of the stir fry with the oven baked Tofu!

So to summarize what I ended up with for my week of meals.

  1. Oven baked Tofu with Stir fry
  2. Roasted Red Pepper Quinoa with Stir fry
  3. Gardien faux chicken with Stir Fry
  4. Gardien Faux chicken with Sweet Potatoes
  5. Oven Baked Tofu with Sweet Potatoes
  6. Oven Baked Tofu with Sweet Potatoes and Stir fry

20170424_154123

 I was able to get about two meals of each. I know a lot of people make just one meal ( one protein, carb, veggie, ect.) for their meal prep but I cannot eat the same thing for more than two days, I can do leftovers the night after but after having it twice in a row, I just can’t, which is why I did three different proteins so I could mix things up!It also make it MUCH easier to stick to it! Then I also chopped up some watermelon and some strawberries to eat with it too and it fit beautifully my designated spot in the fridge 😉

20170424_161018

 

 

