A few days ago I wrote four pages about why and how I made the decision to give up meat.

And now? My computer tells me the file is corrupted and I’ve spent three days and a million different web searches to try to fix it or recover it and well nothing at all has worked.

No matter what I write now, it wont be as good as what I wrote earlier. I guess this will teach me to not to back up my work.

Well lesson learned. New version of Microsoft word and I’ll be backing up everything into my email from now on.

Anyways.

Here it goes… again.

 

 

                I’ve been a vegetarian for four years now and I can’t even imagine why I ever ate meat to begin with. Before I made the switch, I barely ate much meat at all… chicken was just about it… which made the transition a lot easier, Id assume, than it is for most. Four years ago an old friend of mine was a vegetarian, she said she made the decision to give up meat for lent and felt so great afterwards that she never looked back. Over the course of our friendship she’d share different foods, plant based foods with me, such as her morning star products, and I quickly learned that this lifestyle was not only delicious but didn’t have to be overly expensive like I thought it would be. The moment that I knew it was time to switch was right after I watched the Netflix documentary “Cowspiracy” It was one of the most eye opening but devastating things I’ve ever watched. With that being said I recommend it constantly to anyone who will listen because I feel that the more informed people are, the harder it is for them to ignore what actually happens to the animals and honestly to the planet when they continue to consume meat. The hardest thing for me so far is to give up cheese. I know that there are plenty of vegan options for cheese, and they’re delicious, I’ve had diaya cheese many times, but its also expensive, so it’s a slow process unfortunately. I know that the dairy industry is equally as terrible as the meat industry. I’ve given up eggs, yogurt, butter and milk. I probably gave up milk before I gave up chicken if we’re being honest. Almond milk is where its at people!

It is too easy for me to begin rambling….Anywaysssssssss.

                I gave up meat the more and more that I began to realize what the animals go through, and for what? For you to enjoy something for ten second and then you’re done? No thank you. And yes I know what you’re thinking… if you can think that way about meat then what are you doing still eating cheese? I know it’s the same thing and im being hypocritical, but I’m working on it, I promise I’m working on it and my goal is by March of 2017 to be completely vegan!

                Another reason I gave up meat? I am very, very, very in love with our planet and I  feel I have a personal need to protect it in any way that I can and I believe my diet has a huge part in that. One example being that:  To produce one pound of animal protein vs one pound of soy protein, it takes about 12 times as much land, 13 times as much fossil fuels, and 15 times as much water!  That is insane. ( I hope to write a post with facts like this about how a planet based diet helps the environment very soon!)

A lot of vegans/vegetarians get asked how do you get any protein when you don’t eat meat? I hear a lot of them get annoyed by this, and trust me I understand why, but me, personally, I love getting this question, simply because I love the look on their faces when I quickly name off 5-10 ways I get my protein, such as tofu, tempeh, quinoa, peanut butter, oatmeal, chia seeds, kale and sweet potatoes. And then they’ll follow up with what about Iron or Calcium… and I’ll reply almond milk, kale, broccoli, and kale as well as spinach and tofu, potato and chick peas. They always look shocked, as if because I don’t eat meat, I’m unhealthy, or stupid.

When I decided to make the switch, I made sure that I knew exactly what I was doing so that I would be healthy. I did so much research and still to this day, I research. Something that everyone seems to look down on us for is having to take vitamins. I think that is the silliest thing in the world. When everyone gets older they must take vitamins… so what’s the difference…? I take B12, which is so incredibly important and a vitamin D supplement just to make sure all is well.

I think I did horribly piecing all of this together but the point of it all is, that I’ve been a vegetarian for four years and I’m making the transition to being a full-fledged vegan. I made the decision because I believed it would make me healthier, what happens to the animals is disgusting and eating meat does more harm than good to our planet. I’m not the kind of person who goes around telling every person I encounter that I don’t eat meat, but I’m more than willing to explain when they ask, and when I meet someone who shares the same lifestyles it makes me incredibly happy. I think every vegetarian/vegan has their own story about how they came to become one, mines pretty simple.

two-cows

