Meatless Monday !

Happy Meatless Monday!  

I decided that the perfect weekly tradition to kick off this blog is a recipe every week that is completely meat free!

       So this week I decide to kick it off with Quinoa and Sweet Potato Patties.

Which ended up being completely VEGAN! 

I’d always wanted to make these, and today I finally dove in and did it! I’ve also learned that 99% of the time, the food I make isn’t always pretty, but it tastes damn good. This is no exception. pixlr_20161212190750663.jpg

Ingredients you’ll need.

  1. 2 cups of baked sweet potatoes, skins removed and mashed. ( about 2 medium sweet potatoes)
  2. 2 cups of cooked Quinoa. ( I used Roasted Red Pepper Quinoa)
  3. 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  4. 1 tsp of garlic powder
  5. 1 tsp of onion powder
  6. sea salt
  7. earth balance vegan butter
  8. optional- Ms. Dash. I use it because I absolutely love it and it adds flavor!

Preparation 

  • Prepare Quinoa according to package instructions
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees, pierce sweet potatoes with fork, and bake for 45 in the oven, or until soft. Another option, which is what I personally did. I cubed up the sweet potatoes and boiled them in the water until soft.
  • Add mashed up sweet potatoes, Quinoa all other dry ingredients and olive oil in a bowl together and mix well.
  • Form mixture into balls the size of your choice, flatten into a patty and cook in the earth balance butter in a pan for about 2 minutes on each side( depending on the size of your patties)
  • and ENJOY!

 

To go with these patties I made a package of Veggie Fries. They’re Kale and Tuscan Herb flavored, completely vegan, Gluten Free and delicious!

pixlr_20161212192927935.jpg

Leave a Reply

